Freedom

**** This is from the Bold in the Soul challenge in June. I needed this reminder. And I think it might help someone else, as well, right now.
Food is my struggle. I KNOW that I am healed of that addiction.  I just have to continually walk in that freedom.  It’s not easy, at all. It’s a day by day thing.  And I am learning how to keep giving it all to God! ***
Day4BW-6

FREEDOM: the state of not being imprisoned or enslaved.

This is NOT the photo I had in mind to do when I knew this was my word. I do NOT like doing these photos.  But when God leads me in that direction, I go with it. Especially when He’s telling me it’s for my FREEDOM!

God kept impressing this word on my heart and in my spirit today. My friend even gave me a bracelet with the word FREE…and that was after I had decided the word.


Today, at church, God broke more chains from me. I received FREEDOM from Food Addiction! I received FREEDOM from shame! FREEDOM from myself!
My friend, Amanda, has been special to me ever since I met her. God has always used her to reach me in ways I can’t explain. This morning she posted this on her FB:

“Adam and Eve hid from shame, clothing themselves in fig leaves. They hid from their Father when He came to commune with them. Yet, the Father took the skin of an animal, foreshadowing the shedding of the precious blood of Jesus, and covered them in skins. Jesus redeemed all that was lost in the garden and more. Now we are clothed in Him, skin to skin.”

Then, at church, she spoke on this and how she had let shame cover her, as well. God spoke to me tremendously through this. God revealed things to me, even deeper than before.

I know that food addiction is MORE than the food. It’s really NOT about the food. It’s about what’s in my heart. And today, He laid it out for me. To me. In me. I knew it before. But today, He made me SEE it and FEEL it and KNOW it!

Just yesterday and this morning before church, I was messaging with friends about this very thing. How I have been struggling lately, more than usual, with it. God brought all this to mind as Amanda was speaking at church today. God definitely used her to reach me, once again, today.

Why have I been addicted to food? I use it as a cover. To cover pain from my past. To hide because I’ve been told so many times that I’m not good enough. Why? Because I was always been overweight and didn’t have a big house or name brand clothes as a child. I used it as a cover because I was ashamed of who I was and what I looked like.

I have always been one that when I lose weight, I stop after a while and then start gaining. Why? Because it’s easy to hide behind the weight. As the weight comes off, so does layers of heartache and pain. So does layers of shame that I have heaped upon myself. As the weight comes off, people start seeing me more. Looking at me more. Wanting to know more.

When this happens, it’s scary. Because it’s then that God is able to dig deeper into my soul and uncover things that I would rather leave covered. I let God in but only so far. Today He showed me that I do that. Healing isn’t always easy and simple. Most of the time, real healing HURTS. Real FREEDOM hurts! It’s time that I let Him in all the way. It’s time that I get raw and totally open to Him.

My friend, Kasey, told me, “Living in freedom can sometimes be harder than obeying strict rules”

Wow, what a word! It’s so true. Obeying rules is easy, there really is not a lot of thinking involved once you get the rules down. You can just do what needs to be done and go on.

That is NOT how God wants us to live. He wants us to live in TRUE FREEDOM!! He wants to reach into us and bring out all the junk we want to hide. He wants to bring it out so we can let go of it! So we can move forward! He wants to rip off the layers of shame and cover us with FREEDOM!

Today, God truly showed me that I am NOT food addiction. I am NOT shame. I am NOT timid. I am NOT unworthy.

Today, God showed me that I am FREE! I am a SHAME SLAYER! I am BRAVE! I am FEARLESS! I am WORTHY! I am ENOUGH! I am HIS!

As Amanda said, “Jesus redeemed all that was lost in the garden and more. Now we are clothed in Him, skin to skin.”

God heard that prayer said for me. And has already started answering! lol

This verse that Sarah gave me really hit, as well…

Galatians 5:1
For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of slavery.

I’m no longer a slave!  ⚔️  ⚔️  ⚔️ 
FREEDOM! FREEDOM! FREEDOM!

#GodsGirl #BeautifullyBroken #Freedom#BoldInTheSoul #RevelationWellness#NoLongerASlave #FreedomInChrist #Beautiful#Worthy #GoodEnough #Fearless #ShameSlayer#FitnessTeacherGospelPreacher #MightyVoice#Brave #RevWellVoice #RevWellApparel

 — feeling Free.

** I am currently doing a writing challenge with some other great ladies. Below are the links to their blog posts, as well. Please take a moment and visit them!

http://www.iamsarahmichal.com/2017/09/05/not-open-not-closed/

https://livspiruetter.wordpress.com/2017/09/12/writing-challenge-1-god-redeems-so-dont-give-up-on-relationships/

https://beautifullybroken61.wordpress.com/2017/09/11/freedom/

http://www.spuronlove.com/things-i-need-my-kids-to-know-before-i-die-call-people-up/

6 thoughts on “Freedom

  1. Pingback: Things I Need My Kids to Know Before I Die: Call People Up » Spur on Love

  2. Wow, these are so powerful words!! It’s so amazing to hear about how God is working in you! Thanks for writing! I really love your honesty in this! Btw. know that you are ENOUGH and you are BEAUTIFUL!! 😘

    Like

  3. Pingback: Writing challenge – 1. God redeems, so don’t give up on relationships. – livspiruetter

Leave a Reply

